IICRC and NORMI Certicifations

IICRC Certification

What does this certification mean?

As an ANSI (American National Standards Institute)-accredited Standards Developing Organization (SDO), the IICRC has led the way in establishing the industry standards and reference guides for water damage restoration, mold remediation and mold assessors. This is the highest level of certification available for a mold remediator or assessor. Using an IICRC certified technician will help ensure that your home or business is healthful for those who live and work there. NWA Mold Inspector had to attend an IICRC-approved course, successfully complete a written examination and document skills in the specific subject to become certified.

I am proud to hold Water Damage Restoration Technician Certification (WRT), which required leaning the procedures necessary to deal with water loses, sewer backflows, and contamination such as mold. Nineteen hours of classroom was required plus passing a proctored 140 question exam to complete this certification.

NWA Mold Inspector also holds the Applied Microbial Remediation Technician Certification (AMRT). My emphasis in this certification was placed on teaching mold and sewage remediation techniques. This is done to provide proper guidelines for mold testing procedures to be performed in the field. Twenty-eight hours of classroom was required and passing a proctored 150 question exam to complete this certification.

All IICRC Certified Firms must:
1. Present accurate information to consumers and conduct business with honesty and integrity.
2. Require a technician on all jobs who has been formally trained and passed all required tests.
3. Require a continuing education program to keep with the latest changes in the industry.
4. Maintain liability insurance to protect all parties in the event of an accident.

A very important issue mentioned on numerous times the IICRC S520 Reference Guide the requirement to use an independent indoor environmental professional (NWA Mold Inspector) to test and a different firm for remediation if necessary. NWA Mold Inspector is proud to say it is the only IICRC Certified Indoor Environmental Testing Professional (IEP) in the NWA area.

NORMI Certification.

What does this certification mean?

NORMI, the National Organization of Remediators and Mold Inspectors have been involved in providing high quality training for mold and indoor environmental professionals since 2004. NORMI is a group of Certified Mold Professional who has successfully completed training and certification process in their specific area of expertise. The NORMI Code of Ethics evidences NORMI Board of Directors interest in establishing a set of values to which professionals ascribe. NORMI requires all members take a minimum of 20 hours of continuing education (CEU’s) per year. Training and instructions on testing other Indoor Air Quality (IAQ) issues like VOC (Volatile Organic Compounds) is also available through NORMI.

NWA Mold Inspector is proud to carry the following certification through the NORMI Organization:

1. Certified IAQ/ Mold Inspector (CMI): To achieve this certification, NWA Mold Inspector does the investigation of IAQ/Mold problems and develops an IAQ (Indoor Air Quality) profile for the purpose of recommending, based on NORMI criteria, either Sanitization or Remediation solutions. The CMI demonstrates in-field proficiency in the investigative process by actual inspections in the field. After meeting certain education requirements, submit a final CMI project, the final step is to pass a written examination.

2. Mold Related Services Assessor (MRSA) and Mold Related Services Remediator (MRSR): These certifications require 24 hours of training in mold, moisture and respiratory protection. This onsite course included extensive hands on training including sampling processes, PPE (Personal Protection Equipment), building containment, establishing negative pressure and fresh air makeup. NORMI certification requires advanced educational requirements, proof of insurance, certification fees and passing a proctored extensive examination.

3. Qualified Sampling Technician (QST): This was training in the seven components of indoor air quality and how to address each. It covers two major sections: IAQ and the IAQ Management Program, a program specifically designed to solve IAQ problems in a holistic way. Then by meeting some educational requirements and passing a written exam this certification is complete.

4. Certified Formaldehyde Screener (CFS): This certification is offered to IAQ professionals who are concerned about testing, reducing and managing formaldehyde and other VOC’s (Volatile Organic Compounds). Professionals are trained to create healthier indoor environments. Meeting educational requirements and passing a written exam and a certification is issued.

Do you suspect you have mold in your home? We want to help!